New Art: Karmen a la St. Tropez

German Vogue, June 2013

German Vogue, June 2013

When I first saw this photo, I felt like summertime had finally arrived. The June 2013 German Vogue issue brilliantly conveys the elegant chic of poolside glamour. I love it! Being such, I felt compelled to paint it.

The covergirl is Estonian fashion model, Karmen Pedaru. She’s got an impressive portfolio. The entire fashion layout in the magazine, photographed by Alexi Lubomirski, is gorgeous while the styling and art direction are fantastic. I’ve included a few pages to give you a taste since the magazine isn’t available for purchase anymore:

photo by Alexi Lubomirski

photo by Alexi Lubomirski

photos by Alexi Lubomirski

photos by Alexi Lubomirski

I had hoped to finish this painting in June but it was incredibly challenging for me. Hands are particularly intimidating… flowers… anatomical proportion in free hand… All these things create artist’s stress! Pastels are unforgiving, so sometimes I have heart palpatations when a steady hand is needed and repainting is not an option! Simutaneously, it’s that edge I like to walk. Softening it is what I’m learning to do.

I’ve been working on “Karmen a la St. Tropez” for over a month, a few strokes at a time… enjoying her creation in the summer breeze. My husband took this photo and I love it so much because it really captures the mood of what my artist time is like.

Me painting in downtown Wiesbaden.

Me painting in downtown Wiesbaden.

Sometimes viewing the artist at work is more beautiful than being one. Other times not. In this case, I feel equal – and fortunate.

 

“Karmen a la St. Tropez”

18″ x 24″ Pastel on paper

For more information, contact me at tatiana@vontauber.com

"Karmen a la St. Tropez"

“Karmen a la St. Tropez”, 18″ x 24″ pastel on paper

2 thoughts on “New Art: Karmen a la St. Tropez

  1. Great job WOW! she is beautiful and the photo of you painting her in Wiesbaden is soooooo glamorous. You are a bright star on this planet. Thank-you. Susie

  2. Thx for the “likes”.

    Susie – I love you! Thank you. You are always so kind. :)
    I will add that the “glamorous” photo inspired a local friend to take up painting as a new hobby. I was thrilled to hear it! Wishing you the best, as always.

Comments are closed.